Making the Healthy Choice the Easy Choice


Nine S.C. Hospitals Awarded for Breastfeeding Programs

The South Carolina Breastfeeding Coalition recognized nine SC hospitals as SC Ten Steps Award winners for 2012. The SC Ten Steps Program was designed to promote and support breastfeeding and ultimately help improve the health of mothers and babies in South Carolina. The goal is to support breastfeeding policies and practices in hospitals and birthing centers statewide and help them progress towards Baby-Friendly Hospital designation.  The program will also help facilities meet the newly established Joint Commission (Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations) perinatal care core measure for exclusive breastmilk feeding. The SC Ten Steps Program is based on the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding as outlined by UNICEF-WHO. The South Carolina Breastfeeding Coalition is proud to recognize the following SC Ten Steps Award Winners!

Bronze Recognition

Silver Recognition

Gold Recognition

For more information, visit